Home > Attitude, Fitness, Motivation, Strength, Workouts > Oakland Half Marathon

Oakland Half Marathon

The day before my race I thought a part of the experience I was hoping for at Oakland was going to be, to some degree, ruined due to the rain. It was pouring at the Expo and it had me a bit worried.  Regardless, I was running rain or shine and wanted to make the best of it.  While at the expo, I got to meet a bunch of fellow Oakland runners at the” tweetup.”  It was great meeting all of them and to share in the excitement together.  Below is one of the group pictures.

20120328-114633.jpg

I went to bed pretty early Saturday night and didn’t sleep well.  I don’t think it was because I was nervous, more-so that I hated the pillow situation in the hotel room. ha!  I woke up fairly early (but not as early as if we had driven to Oakland from Lathrop the morning of, thank goodness)!!  Jesse ran to get us coffee and came back up to the room all excited that it was partly sunny and NOT RAINING.  It’s a miracle! ha.  I didn’t hardly believe him when he told me I wouldn’t need my jacket.

The pre-race excitement was awesome.  I felt great and ready to go.  I think there was around 4,000 people running the half marathon.  You can see how many hats are in this picture -people expecting the rain.  The start was one of my favorite parts of the whole thing!  There was music, people were dancing, and we all got to run through confetti which made me feel a bit like a super star.  And I was ready to kick some ass. 😉

20120328-114649.jpg

All through my training I incorporated scheduled walking breaks at every mile during my long runs.  Pretty much the only way I am able to have enough energy to go 10+ miles.  I planned to do the same on race day, with the exception of not walking until mile 3, because I didn’t want to be the slow person who walked first. haha!  But I got to mile 3 and I was feeling great; not tired.  I realized that even though I had my headphones in, I hadn’t even yet turned on my music.  There was so much to listen to and eventually tucked away my headphones.  The conversations around me, and the cheering crowds were way more motivating.

Since I was feeling good at mile 3, I kept running.  I got to mile 6 and texted Jesse.  I told him I was doing good and was almost half done -and hadn’t yet walked!  I was surprising myself and somewhere around mile 7 I remember telling myself, “I am going to run this whole freaking thing!”  Except I definitely didn’t say “freaking.”  😉

20120328-114738.jpg

I was in the best frame of mind I could possibly be in.  I felt strong and confident.  My legs started getting tired around mile 11, but the rest of me still felt great.  The last half mile was the toughest.  It was the only time I felt like I was really pushing myself to put one foot infront of the other.  Luckily Jesse found me and seeing him & Max gave me that little extra boost I needed….. to go up the hill right before the finish.  What a place to put a hill!!! 😉  My poor quads.

20120328-114759.jpg

My only goal was to finish and have fun, and I did.  I loved this event.  It was the perfect first half marathon.  My “ideal” time to finish by was missed by only 5 seconds, BUT I couldn’t be more happy with myself for running the entire 13.1 miles.  I didn’t even know I could do that!

On to the next run!

  1. March 28, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    Congratulations! Before reading your blog and the one you recommended, “See Mom Run Far,” I was too intimidated to imagine running a race. To me, running was something I was just doing on my own to lose baby weight. But thanks in part to you, I signed up for my first 5K today! “Race Day” is April 21st. Thank you so much for being one of my inspirations!

  2. March 29, 2012 at 6:32 am

    Congrats on your first half!!

    I “know” Cate and follow pavement runners blog!!!

  3. Dan
    March 29, 2012 at 7:45 am

    That’s a pretty classy medal (and I definitely run these races mostly for the medals, if I’m allowed to be frank). Congratulations on the finish!

  4. April 4, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Good job with going so far without walking even though planned on it! I wasn’t expecting that hill at the end either, but it was fun running through all the crowds of people near the finish! Can’t wait for next year

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

