Home > Attitude, Fitness, Motivation, Strength, Workouts > A Little Pre Race Freak Out

A Little Pre Race Freak Out

20120323-195755.jpg

With less than 48 hours until my very first long distance race, my mind is busy trying to organize all the last little details. What I am going to have for breakfast? What I am going to wear? What jacket am I going to bring, and… do I wear it or not? Can I really fit 4 Gu’s in one pocket? How do I water proof my phone & iPod shuffle? – and, is it reeaally  going to rain!?

I feel like I have the decision making capability of a 2 year old.

On top of it all I woke up this morning feeling a cold coming on….. and….. on top of that I can go ahead and kiss my pretty manicured toes goodbye.  Well two of them anyways.  Let’s just say you wont find me at a nail salon getting a pedicure anytime soon. This picture has been my phone background for the last month, and there’s a whole new truth to it now! Perhaps it’s time for new shoes (yay!).  But that will have to wait.

Even though my mind is in full on plan freak out mode, I am trying not to get stressed, because more than anything I am really excited. I feel confident in my training and I want to have fun.  And I am certain I will!

I am even looking forward to the expo tomorrow to go pick up my packet & bib… and maybe even a hat if this rain is really going to happen. (booooo).

Going into my first long distance race, my only focus is to finish and to have fun doing it.  I am pretty sure it is going to take me around 2 1/2 hours, which I am A-OK with. 🙂  I know I need to focus on each mile as I run it, and at mile 3 not let myself get overwhelmed over that fact that I still have freaking 10 more miles to go. oy.

Whatever. bring it rain. bring it cold. and bring it stupid toes.  I am going to complete my run, and I hope more than anything that I look back at this post in 6 months to a year and laugh at myself for being so silly asbout a measly 13.1 miles.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

