Home > Attitude, Fitness, Motivation, Strength, Workouts > Progress Report: Week 2

Progress Report: Week 2

20120115-111125.jpg

I’ve successfully completed my second week of half marathon training! So far I have to say it is a whole lot of work! But it’s also a unique experience. With each week comes a new accomplishment which propels me into the next week’s schedule with newly found confidence. Week two was 18 total miles, ending with a 9 mile long run on Saturday. 9 miles! That’s my new accomplishment as it is the longest distance I have ran. Ever.

This weeks long run was tough. I was struggling and felt slow. I knew I was going to finish the 9 miles, even if my legs fell off and I had to crawl! Around mile 4 or so I checked my gps and realized that I was somehow running faster than last week! Honestly I thought my gps was lying to me. I took a GU around mile 5 and felt relieved I was over half way done.

On my last mile I started getting excited that I was going to finish my longest run yet! I looked at my gps with about a half mile left and was again, totally surprised at the pace. I didn’t understand why I felt so slow when I was doing so much better than last week. I had shaved about 2 minutes off of every mile! I started feeling really proud of myself and got pretty emotional. I’m guessing this was my first “runners high.” I must have looked like a crazy person that last half mile. I passed a walker that I recognized from last weekend, and seriously considered high five’ing him. haha! I refrained but kind of wished I had! He smiled at me and instead of just smiling back I started laughing. Out loud. Like I said, I must have looked crazy. Then I started getting all choked up and thought I was going to cry. I was completely emotional because I was so happy that I’d done so well and reached my goal for the week. Running is emotional and weird, and I love it!

Now I’m going into next week’s training feeling strong and confident, which is great since it’s going to be a pretty big milestone. I am going to reach the 10 mile mark!! That is a big deal to me. It’s exciting and challenging and I can’t wait to have a double digit run under my belt!

  1. January 15, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    love it! welcome to the club! running is so strange… it is a very emotional sport. you push your body to these physical limits and it takes such mental strength… it’s very special when you have breakthroughs. it always feels funny when i cry on runs… because i’m like why the heck am i crying, but then you realize what it has taken to get you there. so much. you should be very proud of your 9 miles!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

